top of page

Dissipation

I was sitting at my desk, teaching, and feeling anxious for the week that stands in front of me. I spend most weeks wondering what it is that I am doing in my classroom and if I am making any sense to the students who come to me to learn. I frequently feel as if everything that I do is wrong and that I am hopeless. I have been wondering what it is that I can do to help myself not feel this way and to save myself from this mindset that is hungrily eating away at my wellbeing. I do not want to lose myself into the vortex of this feeling. I do not want to lose the parts of me that I like the best.


Spring has arrived in New York and it is beautiful.The sun has a strength to its glow that it was missing in the winter. The daffodils and the forsythia have burst forth on the scene, already legends. I am sitting at my desk and there is a pause in class while my students quietly read to themselves. Once the noise has died down from a passing siren on the street and my own chattering in class, I hear the notes of the jazz that my downstairs neighbor plays as she works. I take a breath, pulling deep from my diaphragm, and let the faint notes touch me with their comforting warmth. I will be okay.


Recent Posts

See All

Madame Prospect Park

I see her when I don’t expect it. I believe in auguries, that birds are omens. I believe that there are animals, plants, and natural spaces that are meaningful to each of us. Red-tailed hawks are mean

Space heater

In the morning I wake up and I feel the cold on my face. The tip of my nose. The tops of my ears. My apartment is cold. Built in 1904, according to our fire safety manual, there is no central heat. In

Rhinecliff

The river is grey and blue and, at spots, a deep purple. The train is late. But only by a few minutes. Negligible to me, but an annoyance to others who I wait beside. And perhaps, an earlier version o

IMG_2190.JPG

- Anne Pietrow

From my desk to yours

Ta!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page